Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Language Centre

Print page

Management of the Language Centre

Robert Wolf

Head of the Language Centre

Bild Wolf

has been the director of the Language Centre since 1 October 2022 and is very excited about this new responsibility. After completing his teacher training (French-Spanish-Sport) in Erlangen and a Master's degree (DaF) in Bamberg, he held a number of positions at various universities (Erlangen, Göttingen, Paderborn) and has always been keen to share his enthusiasm for both  foreign languages and his native tongue, or to learn more languages himself, applying the motto: si te atreves a enseñar nunca dejes de aprender. (If you dare to teach, never stop learning). When he isn't busy with languages, Robert likes to backpack across the world or leave it all behind and go scuba diving.

Contact: robert.wolf@uni-bayreuth.de

Mary Redmond

Assistant Head of the Language Centre and Coordinator for English 

Bild Redmond

was born and raised in the Irish capital Dublin. There and later in Berlin, she studied linguistics and worked at several universities in Ireland and Germany. Mary has been employed at the Language Centre of the University of Bayreuth since 2000 and has been head of the English department since 2011. She also supports management as deputy head of the Language Centre.

Her motto, loosely based on Socrates: Education is the kindling of a flame, not the filling of a vessel. For Mary, each language is a world of its own, which makes the Language Centre a galaxy!

Contact: mary.redmond@uni-bayreuth.de


Dr. Oliver Hepp

Coordinator for German as a Foreign Language (DaF)

Bild Hepp

was a freelance lecturer for many years and has been working at the Language Centre as a full-time lecturer for German as a Foreign Language (DaF) since 2018. He has been team coordinator for DaF since 2020. Oliver discovered his passion for teaching during his German studies at the University of Bayreuth, where he also completed his PhD on the vampire in 19th century literature.

Language has always played a leading role in his professional life. As a former journalist, Oliver has written about football, golf and ice hockey for the sports magazine Kicker and the Mittelbayerische Zeitung, among others. As a research assistant to Carsten Träger, Member of the Bundestag for Fürth, he wrote press releases and speeches and helped to manage Carsten's media appearance(s). In his free time, Oliver treads the boards at the Studiobühne Bayreuth, reads a lot, or tries to find out how long it takes to watch all the shows on Netflix.

Contact: oliver.hepp@uni-bayreuth.de


Gesa Dyckerhoff-Six

Coordinator for Teaching English

Dyckerhoff

is originally from Canada, has been teaching English since the winter semester 08/09 and is team coordinator for the teacher training programme at the Language Centre. She likes the idea that words, like people, have good and not so good friends. For example, acquire and knowledge get along brilliantly, while get and knowledge are extremely reluctant to hang out with each other (we call friendship amongst words 'collocation'). 'Show me who your friends are and I'll tell you who you are!' We become much more familiar with new, cool words - and it's funnier too - when we get to know their best buddies at the same time. Gesa loves the music of Bach, but also enjoys dancing flamenco and spending her free time engaging with art and philosophical, social and political issues.


Contact: Gesa.Dyckerhoff-Six(at)uni-bayreuth.de 


María José Ruiz Frutos

Coordinator for Spanish

Bild Ruiz Frutos


was born in Madrid and is the team coordinator for Spanish. She came to Bayreuth in 2003 for her Erasmus studies and was very enthusiastic about the great diversity of the Language Center.  At that time that she attended language courses in German, Swahili as well as Turkish, she also was able to expand her passion for languages in her studies of Hispanic & German Studies and Foreign Language Teaching.  Areas of interest to her are natural language processing, intercultural communicative competence, and technologies in foreign language teaching.

Since 2005 she has been teaching Spanish at the University of Bayreuth, her favorite word being ¿vale? She sees language teaching as a means of interacting with other people and learning about other cultures. For her, every language is like a bicycle that allows you to reach different destinations, to develop yourself and to always enjoy the ride! She also enjoys discovering new places on her bike. ¡Vamos!

Contact: ruizfrutos@uni-bayreuth.de


Dottoressa Bianca Maria Lento Martella

Coordinator for Italian 

Bild Lento

is originally from Naples. She has been a lecturer for Italian since 2018, but she has been teaching at the University of Bayreuth since 2011. Bianca likes to let the students have their say in class and also here in her profile. A few voices said the following:

'The lecturer made the lessons fun. She created a relaxed and easy-going atmosphere and delivered content well. The teacher's joyful, energetic attitude was in itself a great motivation to come to class. I was always in a better mood at the end of class than at the beginning.'

'She was one of the nicest language teachers I had! Wonderful energy, personality and ability to explain! I am extremely happy that I chose a course with Ms. Lento. It was both exciting and rewarding.'

'Bianca managed to create a positive culture of mistakes - you never felt like you were being exposed and you were able to learn much better as a result. The atmosphere was always very good and the lessons exciting, dynamic and varied.'


Contact: Bia.LentoMartella@uni-bayreuth.de


Webmaster: Redaktion Sprachenzentrum

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram LinkedIn UBT-A Kontakt

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Sprachenzentrum

Seite drucken

Leitung des Sprachenzentrums

Robert Wolf

Leiter des Sprachenzentrums 

Bild Wolf

ist seit dem 1. Oktober 2022 der Leiter des Sprachenzentrums und freut sich sehr über diese neue Aufgabe. Nach seinem Lehramtsstudium (Französisch-Spanisch-Sport) in Erlangen und einem Masterstudium (DaF) in Bamberg hat er an diversen Universitäten (Erlangen, Göttingen, Paderborn) in unterschiedlichen Funktionen gearbeitet und seitdem nie die Motivation verloren, seine Begeisterung für Fremdsprachen, aber auch für seine Muttersprache weiterzugeben oder selbst weitere Sprachen zu lernen, ganz nach dem Motto: si te atreves a enseñar nunca dejes de aprender. (Wenn du es wagst, zu unterrichten, höre nie auf, zu lernen). Wenn er sich nicht gerade beruflich mit Sprachen beschäftigt, backpackt Robert durch die Weltgeschichte oder verschwindet gern beim Tauchen von der Bildfläche.

Kontakt: robert.wolf@uni-bayreuth.de

Mary Redmond

Stellvertretende Leiterin des Sprachenzentrums und Koordinatorin für Englisch 

Bild Redmond

ist in der irischen Hauptstadt Dublin geboren und aufgewachsen. Dort sowie später in Berlin studierte sie u.a. Linguistik und arbeitete an mehreren Universitäten in Irland und Deutschland. Mary ist seit 2000 am Sprachenzentrum der Universität Bayreuth beschäftigt und leitet seit 2011 die Englischabteilung. Zudem unterstützt sie als stellvertretende Leiterin des Sprachenzentrums die Geschäftsführung.

Ihr Motto frei nach Sokrates: Bildung ist das Entzünden einer Flamme und nicht das Füllen eines Gefäßes. Für Mary ist jede Sprache eine eigene Welt, das Sprachenzentrum demnach eine Galaxie (!).

Kontakt: mary.redmond@uni-bayreuth.de


Dr. Oliver Hepp

Koordinator für Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF)

Bild Hepp

war viele Jahre als freiberuflicher Dozent tätig und arbeitet seit 2018 am Sprachenzentrum als hauptamtlicher Lektor für Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF). Seit 2020 ist er Teamkoordinator für den DaF-Bereich. Die Leidenschaft für das Unterrichten entdeckte Oliver während des Germanistik-Studiums und seiner Promotion an der Uni Bayreuth zum Vampir in der Literatur des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Sprache hat schon immer in seinem Arbeitsleben die Hauptrolle gespielt. Oliver schrieb journalistisch u. a. für das kicker-Sportmagazin und die Mittelbayerische Zeitung über Fußball, Golf und Eishockey. Außerdem verfasste er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Team des Fürther Bundestagsabgeordneten Carsten Träger Pressetexte, Reden und betreute Carstens Medienauftritt(e) mit. In seiner Freizeit steht Oliver oft für die Studiobühne Bayreuth auf den Theaterbrettern, liest viel oder testet, wie lange es dauert, bis man Netflix komplett durchgesehen hat. 

Kontakt: oliver.hepp@uni-bayreuth.de


Gesa Dyckerhoff-Six

Koordinatorin Lehramt Englisch

Dyckerhoff

kommt ursprünglich aus Kanada, unterrichtet seit dem Wintersemester 08/09 Englisch und ist Teamkoordinatorin für Lehramt Englisch am Sprachenzentrum. Ihr gefällt die Vorstellung, dass Wörter, ähnlich wie Menschen, gute und weniger gute Freunde haben. Zum Beispiel verstehen sich acquire und knowledge blendend, während get und knowledge extrem ungern miteinander abhängen (bei den Wörtern nennen wir Freundschaft „Kollokation“). „Show me who your friends are and I’ll tell you who you are!“ Wir werden mit neuen, coolen Wörtern viel besser vertraut – und lustiger ist es auch – wenn wir zugleich deren best buddies kennenlernen. Gesa liebt die Musik von Bach, tanzt aber auch gerne Flamenco und beschäftigt sich in ihrer Freizeit mit Kunst und mit philosophischen, gesellschaftlichen und politischen Fragen.


Kontakt: Gesa.Dyckerhoff-Six(at)uni-bayreuth.de 


María José Ruiz Frutos

Koordinatorin für Spanisch

Bild Ruiz Frutos

ist in Madrid geboren und die Team-Koordinatorin für Spanisch. Nach Bayreuth kam sie 2003 für ihr Erasmus-Studium und war damals von der großen Vielfalt des Sprachenzentrums so begeistert, dass sie neben Sprachkursen in Deutsch und Swahili auch Türkischkurse besuchte. Ihre Leidenschaft für die Sprachen durfte sie in ihren Studien der Hispanistik, der Germanistik und der Fremdsprachenvermittlung erweitern. Bereiche, die sie interessieren, sind die automatische Sprachverarbeitung, interkulturelle kommunikative Kompetenz und die Technologien in der Fremdsprachenlehre.

Seit 2005 unterrichtet sie Spanisch an der Universität Bayreuth, dabei ist ihr Lieblingswort ¿vale? Den Sprachunterricht versteht sie als Mittel, um mit anderen Menschen zu interagieren und weitere Kulturen kennen zu lernen. Jede Sprache ist für sie wie ein Fahrrad, das ermöglicht, verschiedene Ziele zu erreichen, sich zu entwickeln und dabei immer die Tour zu genießen! Neue Orte entdeckt sie besonders gerne auf ihrem Rad. ¡Vamos!


Kontakt: ruizfrutos@uni-bayreuth.de


Dott.ssa Bianca Maria Lento Martella

Koordinatorin für Italienisch 

Bild Lento

kommt ursprünglich aus Neapel. Sie ist seit 2018 Lektorin für Italienisch, aber sie unterrichtet schon seit 2011 an der Universität Bayreuth. Bianca lässt im Unterricht und auch hier gern die Studierenden zu Wort kommen. Ein paar Stimmen sagten Folgendes:

„Die Dozentin hat den Unterricht lustig gestaltet. Sie hat für eine lockere und entspannte Atmosphäre gesorgt und Inhalte gut vermittelt. Die freudige, energievolle Einstellung der Lehrerin war an sich schon eine große Motivation, zum Unterricht zu kommen. Ich war immer am Ende des Unterrichts besser gelaunt als am Anfang.“

„Sie war eine der nettesten Sprachkursleiterinnen, die ich hatte! Wunderbare Energie, Persönlichkeit und Erklärungsfähigkeit! Ich bin extrem zufrieden, dass ich einen Kurs bei Frau Lento gewählt habe. Es war sowohl spannend als auch erfolgreich.“

„Bianca hat es geschafft, eine positive Fehlerkultur zu gestalten – man hat niemals das Gefühl gehabt, bloßgestellt zu sein und man konnte dadurch viel besser lernen. Die Stimmung war immer sehr gut und der Unterricht spannend, dynamisch und abwechslungsreich.“


Kontakt: Bia.LentoMartella@uni-bayreuth.de


Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Redaktion Sprachenzentrum

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram LinkedIn UBT-A Kontakt